Peirce College Faculty

Tags: About

Peirce College Faculty

Undergraduate Faculty

Business Administration

Leola Bennett
Michael Bentil
Willie C. Brown
Gail DiGiacomo
Charlene Glenn
Fred Poellnitz
Brooke Quigg
Michael Schirmer : Faculty Chair

Information Technology

Patrick J. Coyle
Richard Patterson
Brian R. Finnegan : Assistant Dean and Faculty Chair

Healthcare Administration

Luanne Amato
Kathleen Watson

Health Information Technology

Stephanie Donovan : Faculty Chair, Health Programs
Yeva Madden

Legal Studies

Glenn D. Barnes
Robert M. Brzenchek
Cynthia Gentile
Ivy Kempf
Edwin B. Miller : Assistant Dean and Faculty Chair
Carol J. Sherman

General Education

Justine C. Baker
Emily Basile
Linda Currie
Robyn Edelstein
Beverly F. Elliott
Joseph S. Falzone
Brian R. Finnegan : Assistant Dean and Faculty Chair
Toboulayefa D. Houessou-Adin
Melissa Kowalski
Margaret Obozian
Milika Singleton
James Tobin
Rita Toliver-Roberts
Nick Wernicki



Graduate Faculty

Adrian C. Zappala
Cathy M. Littlefield

Year following name indicates year of appointment to full time faculty.


Business Administration


Leola Bennett, Ed.D. (1974)
Professor, Business Administration

B.S., University of Delaware
M.A., LaSalle University
Ed.D., Argosy University
Subject Area: Accounting
lnbennett@peirce.edu

[Top]



Michael Bentil, D.B.A. (1998)
Associate Professor, Business Administration

B.A., Morehouse College
M.B.A., Philadelphia University (formerly Philadelphia College of Textiles and Science)
D.B.A., University of Sarasota
Subject Area: Accounting/Finance
mkbentil@peirce.edu

[Top]



Willie C. Brown, Ph.D. (1976)
Professor, Business Administration

B.S., Temple University
M.S., Wilmington College
M.A., Temple University
Ph.D., Temple University
Subject Area: Management
wlbrown@peirce.edu

[Top]



Gail DiGiacomo, Ed.D. (1978)
Professor, Business Administration

Teaching Certification in Accounting, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
B.S., Bloomsburg University
M.Ed., Bloomsburg University
Ed.D., University of Sarasota
Subject Area: Accounting
gadigiacomo@peirce.edu

[Top]



Charlene Glenn, Ed.D. (2000)
Professor, Business Administration and Co-ACBSP Facilitator

ACBSP Facilitator
B.S., Widener University
M.S., Villanova University
Ed.D, St. Joseph's University
Subject Area: Management
cglenn@peirce.edu

[Top]



Fred Poellnitz, Ed.D. (1999)
Professor, Business Administration and Co-ACBSP Facilitator

B.S., University of Pittsburgh
M.S., New York University
M.B.A., Harvard University
Ed.D., Wilmington University
Subject Area: Accounting/Finance
fdpoellnitz@peirce.edu

[Top]



Brooke Quigg, D.B.A. (1975)
Professor, Business Administration

A.S., Peirce College
B.S., Philadelphia University (formerly Philadelphia College of Textiles and Science)
M.B.A., Lehigh University
D.B.A., Argosy University
Subject Area: Marketing
bcquigg@peirce.edu

[Top]



Michael Schirmer, D.B.A. (2010)
Assistant Professor and Faculty Chair, Business Administration

A.A.S., SUNY at Alfred
B.S., Kettering University
M.B.A., University of North Carolina at Wilmington
D.B.A., Wilmington University
Subject Area: Entrepreneurship/Small Business Management
MLSchirmer@Peirce.edu

[Top]

Year following name indicates year of appointment to full time faculty.

Healthcare Administration


Luanne Amato, M.B.A. (2012)
Assistant Professor, Healthcare Administration and Health Information Management

A.A.S., Community College of Philadelphia
B.S., Rosemont College
M.B.A., Rosemont College
lmamato@peirce.edu

[Top]



Kathleen Watson, DR.PH. (Candidate) (2012)
Assistant Professor, Healthcare Administration and Health Information Management

B.A., Towson University
M.A., Columbia University
M.Ed., Columbia University
Dr.PH., (candidate), Drexel University
KWatson@peirce.edu

s [Top]


Health Information Technology


Stephanie Donovan, M.B.A. (2010)
Assistant Professor and Faculty Chair, Health Programs

A.S., Gwynedd-Mercy College
B.H.S., Gwynedd-Mercy College
M.B.A., LaSalle University
sadonovan@peirce.edu

[Top]


Health Information Technology


Yeva Madden, M.S. (2012)
Assistant Professor, Health Information Management and Health Information Management

B.S., Temple University
M.S., University of Illinois at Chicago
yvmadden@peirce.edu

[Top]


Information Technology

Patrick J. Coyle, Ph.D. (2006)
Associate Professor, Information Technology

A.A.S., Gloucester County College
B.S.B.A., Thomas Edison State College
M.S.I.T., Capella University
Ph.D., Capella University
Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE)
A+ Certified System Technician
CompTIA Certified A+ Systems Technician
CompTIA Certified Technical Trainer
Subject Area: Networking, Network Security, Information Security, Technology Management, Business Information Systems, Desktop Applications for Business
pjcoyle@peirce.edu

[Top]


Brian Finnegan, Ed.D. (2006)
Associate Professor and Assistant Dean, Information Technology and General Education

B.S., Cornell University
M.S., Drexel University
Ed.D., Temple University
Subject Area: Technology Management, Programming and Application Development, Desktop Applications for Business, Networking
brfinnegan@peirce.edu

[Top]


Richard Patterson, M.S. (1999)
Associate Professor, Information Technology

A.S., Computer Programming, Delaware County Community College
B.S., Widener University
M.S., Widener University
M.S., Widener University
Certificate, Webmaster, Penn State University
Certified HTML Programmer
Certified JavaScript Programmer
Certified Web Design Concepts
Certified Flash MX
Subject Area: Programming and Application Development
rgpatterson@peirce.edu

[Top]


Legal Studies

Glenn D. Barnes, J.D. (2005)
Professor, Legal Studies

B.A., Cornell University
J.D., Suffolk University Law School
Subject Area: Estate Planning and Administration, Employment Law, Civil Litigation, Tort Law,
Transactional Law, Family Law, Contract Law,
Business Organizations, Bankruptcy Law, Real Estate Law, Legal Research, and Legal Writing

gdbarnes@peirce.edu

[Top]


Robert M. Brzenchek, M.A. (2013)
Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice Studies

B.A., George Mason University
M.A., American Military University
Subject Area: Criminal Justice
RMBrzenchek@peirce.edu

[Top]


Cynthia Gentile, J.D. (2007)
Associate Professor, Legal Studies

B.A., Rutgers University, Douglass College
J.D., Rutgers University School of Law-Camden
Business and Corporate Law, Intellectual Property Law,
Real Estate Law, Contract Law, Legal Technologies,
Legal Research, and Legal Writing

cgentile@peirce.edu

[Top]


Ivy M. Kempf, J.D. (2006)
Professor, Legal Studies

B.S., West Chester University of Pennsylvania
B.S., West Chester University
J.D., Rutgers University School of Law
Subject Area: Business and Corporate Law, Contract Law, Criminal Law, Civil Litigation, Legal Research and Writing
ikempf@peirce.edu

[Top]


Edwin B. Miller, J.D. (2000)
Professor, Assistant Dean and Faculty Chair, Legal Studies

B.A., Temple University
J.D., Villanova University School of Law
Subject Area: Civil Litigation, Criminal Law,
Family Law, Administrative Regulation,
Legal Research and Writing

emiller@peirce.edu

[Top]


Carol J. Sherman, J.D. (2005)
Professor, Legal Studies

B.A., State University of New York at Binghamton
J.D., Temple University, Beasley School of Law
Subject Area: Elder Law, Civil Litigation, Tort Law,
Workers Compensation, Contract Law, Family Law,
Legal Technology, Professional Legal Responsibility,
Legal Research and Writing

csherman@peirce.edu

[Top]


Year following name indicates year of appointment to full time faculty.

General Education

Justine C. Baker, Ph.D. (1999)
Professor, General Education

A.B., Immaculata College
M.A.T.M., Villanova University
M.S. in Ed., University of Pennsylvania
M.S., University of Pennsylvania
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Subject Area: Mathematics/Science
jcbaker@peirce.edu

[Top]


Emily Basile, Ph.D. (2010)
Associate Professor, General Education

B.S., Millersville University
Ph.D., Drexel University
Subject Area: Science
erbasile@peirce.edu

[Top]


Linda Currie, Ph.D. (candidate) (2004)
Associate Professor, General Education

B.S.E.D., Shippensburg University
M.S., Shippensburg University
Ph.D., (candidate) Capella University
Subject Area: Mathematics/Science
lwcurrie@peirce.edu

[Top]


Robyn Edelstein, M.F.A. (1998)
Professor, General Education

B.A., Pennsylvania State University
M.A., Arcadia University (formerly Beaver College)
M.F.A., Sarah Lawrence College
Subject Area: English
redelstein@peirce.edu

[Top]


Beverly F. Elliot, PH.D. (1971)
PROFESSOR EMERITUS, DISTINGUISHED TEACHING PROFESSOR, GENERAL EDUCATION

B.A., Wheaton College
M.A., Western Michigan University
Ph.D., Temple University
Subject Area: Humanities, Political Science, History, English
BFElliott@peirce.edu

[Top]


Joseph S. Falzone, Ph.D. (1978)
Professor, General Education

B.A., Franklin and Marshall College
M.A.T., The College of New Jersey
Ph.D., Temple University
Subject Area: Economics
jsfalzone@peirce.edu

[Top]


Brian Finnegan, Ed.D. (2006)
Associate Professor and Assistant Dean, Information Technology and General Education

B.S., Cornell University
M.S., Drexel University
Ed.D., Temple University
Subject Area: Technology Management, Programming and Application Development, Desktop Applications for Business, Networking
brfinnegan@peirce.edu

[Top]


Toboulayefa D. Houessou-Adin, Ph.D. (1994)
Professor, General Education

B.A., College of Wooster
M.A., Ohio University
Ph.D., Temple University
Subject Area: English/African American Studies
tdhouessou-adin@peirce.edu

[Top]


Melissa Kowalski, Ph.D. (2012)
Associate Professor, General Education

B.A., The Pennsylvania State University
M.Ed., Arcadia University
M.A., University of York
Ph.D., Lehigh University
Subject Area: English
tdhouessou-adin@peirce.edu

[Top]


Margaret Obozian, M.Ed. (1972)
Professor Emeritus

B.S., Drexel University
M.Ed., Temple University
Subject Area: Humanities
mobozian@peirce.edu

[Top]


Milika Singleton, Ed.D. (2007)
Assistant Professor, General Education

B.A., The Pennsylvania State University
M.Ed., The Pennsylvania State University
Ed.D., Wilmington University
Subject Area: Humanities
mksingleton@peirce.edu

[Top]


James Tobin, M.ED. (1965)
Assistant Professor, General Education

B.A., Villanova University
M.Ed., Temple University
Subject Area: History, Political Science
jtobin@peirce.edu

[Top]


Rita Toliver-Roberts, Ed.D. (2012)
Vice President of Academic Advancement and Professor, General Education

B.A., Rowan University
M.A., Rider University
Ed.D., Rowan University
Subject Area: Psychology and Sociology
RJToliver@peirce.edu

[Top]


Nicholas Wernicki, Ph.D. (2006)
Assistant Professor, General Education

B.A., Rowan University
M.A., Villanova University
Ph.D., Drew University (candidate)
Subject Area: Humanities
nwernicki@peirce.edu

[Top]


Adrian C. Zappala, Ph.D. (2012)
Associate Professor and Dean of Graduate Studies

B.A., Monmouth University
M.A.T., Monmouth University
M.S.Ed., Monmouth University
Ph.D., Capella University
Subject Area: Organizational Leadership and Management
azappala@peirce.edu

[Top]


Cathy M. Littlefield, Ed.D. (2012)
Associate Professor, Graduate Studies

B.S. Widener University
M.B.A. West Chester University
Ed.D. Widener University
Subject Area: Organizational Leadership and Management
clittlefield@peirce.edu

[Top]