Presidential Search

Philadelphia College President Search

Presidential Search

The Search for Peirce College’s Next President

Posted May 15, 2017: The Presidential Search Committee (Committee) met on April 18, 2017, to begin its work to identify the next Peirce President. Led by Committee Chair Marc Ammaturo, the Committee established its objectives and operating principles and defined the two phases of the search process and associated budgets and timelines.

The first phase of the process is to complete an assessment to inform the job description and required characteristics of the next President. The assessment will be used in the second phase to define the desired capabilities of the next President and guide the search firm in identifying appropriate candidates.

At its April 18 meeting, the Committee identified three consulting firms from which it requested proposals to perform the first phase. On May 1, the committee interviewed the three finalists and on May 8 selected Deloitte Consulting.

The engagement with Deloitte will commence on May 15 and is expected to conclude by June 30. Committee Vice Chair Mark Edwards will serve as the Project Sponsor. Elizabeth Krapp, Vice President, Finance & Administration; Brad Hodge, Vice President, Student Services & Retention Management and Harriet Golen, Vice President, Human Resources & Chief Diversity Officer, will provide support during the project.

Please continue to check this page for future updates. Any questions about Peirce College’s presidential search should be directed to Harriet Golen at 215.670.9257 or

Posted April 6, 2017: Following the announcement that Peirce College President & CEO, James J. Mergiotti, will retire from the College on June 30, 2018, the Peirce College Board of Trustees has formed a Presidential Search Committee to identify the College’s eighth president.

The seven-member committee represents a cross-section of the full Board as well as the diversity of experience and perspectives of its many members. The committee members are Marc Ammaturo, Peter Caputo, Lisa Curran, Mark Edwards, Sharmain Matlock-Turner, Tom McLaughlin and Toni Pergolin. Marc Ammaturo will Chair the committee and Mark Edwards will serve as Vice Chair. The Presidential Search Committee will report directly to the Chair, Peirce College Board of Trustees, who will also serve as an ex officio committee member.